Green Tunnel from Kevin Gallagher

I am constantly amazed by people’s ability to produce art. Yes, it comes in many forms, and yes, you will never get everyone to like it. But, when you look at a painting or photograph or you watch a movie or listen to a song, the honest passion and spirit behind the work will always shine through, and I think that’s how you inspire others.

My friend Meredith loves to make movies -and she is great at it. Whenever I watch something that she put together, every component of the editing, music, lighting, etc. are composed so precisely that I actually feel the essence and emotions of the moment she captured. Below is a video she made in Paris last year – I think it speaks for itself.

So you may be wondering what exactly this has to do with the Appalachian Trail…I found the incredible video by Kevin Gallanger on Vimeo and wanted to share it, because watching this video actually brought some tears to my eyes (which, if you know me, is no surprise). The changing scenery, leaf colors, weather and passing hikers were all so beautiful and told their own story. I wondered after watching it, how anyone can ever go back to normal life after they have spent six months being a part of that trail. The video does such a wonderful job of conveying what a living trail the AT really is.

I hope you enjoy it, and I hope that when we embark on our mini version of this trek, we will be inspired creatively in a way that allows us to produce something equally meaningful to someone else.

Leave a Reply

